## Board of Governors of the Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education

## **Meeting Minutes**

262nd Meeting Wednesday, January 16, 2019 Boardroom, First Floor Administration Building 2986 North Second Street Harrisburg, PA 17110-1201

1:00 p.m.

### ATTENDING

### **Board of Governors:**

Carrie Amann (Alternate designee for Secretary Snead) Joar F. Dahn Donald E. Houser, Jr. Rodney Kaplan, Jr. David M. Maser (Vice Chair) Marian D. Moskowitz Thomas S. Muller (via phone) Noe Ortega (designee for Secretary of Education) Representative Brad Roae Senator Judith L. Schwank Cynthia D. Shapira (Chair) Barbara McIlvaine Smith Samuel H. Smith Neil R. Weaver Janet L. Yeomans

Senator Ryan P. Aument, Audrey F. Bronson, Secretary of Education Pedro A. Rivera, Secretary Meg C. Snead (Governor Wolf's designee), and Brian H. Swatt were absent.

### Office of the Chancellor:

Daniel I. Greenstein, Chancellor Peter H. Garland Randy A. Goin, Jr. Andrew C. Lehman Sharon P. Minnich

Also in attendance from the Office of the Chancellor: Kate S. Akers, Sarah J. Bauder, Alicia A. Brumbach, Audrey J. Guistwhite, Jennifer E. Hoover, Lois M. Johnson, Cody Jones, Frank Lentz, Barbara G. Lyman, Kenneth D. Marshall, Brian A. Mbuu, Sue Mukherjee, Charlotte L. Osmolenski, and Victoria L. Sanders.

Also in attendance: Jennifer S. Hartman, Chief Executive Officer, Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education Foundation Board.

University Presidents in attendance: William J. Behre, Laurie A. Carter, Peter C. Fackler, Michael A. Driscoll, Christopher M. Fiorentino, Michael J. Hannan, Kenneth S. Hawkinson, Geraldine M. Jones, Dale-Elizabeth Pehrsson, Robert M. Pignatello, Aaron A. Walton, Daniel A. Wubah, and Marcia G. Welsh.

James K. Krause, Interim Provost and Senior VP for Academic Affairs represented Bashar W. Hanna.

Chairwoman Shapira called the meeting to order at 1:09 p.m.

Attendance taken at the direction of Chairwoman Shapira established that a quorum of the Board was present.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by those in attendance.

### APROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE MEETINGS

Chairman Shapira noted that the minutes of the meetings held on October 11, 2018, and October 29, 2018, were distributed prior to the meeting. Chairman Shapira moved **THAT THE MINUTES OF THE OCTOBER 11, 2018, AND OCTOBER 29, 2018, MEETINGS BE** APPROVED.

The motion passed unanimously. Voice Vote

### PUBLIC COMMENTS

Dr. Ken Mash, President of APSCUF, and Sheleta J. Camarda-Webb, President of SCUPA provided public comments.

### To hear all comments, clink on the link.

http://ducmediasite.passhe.edu/Mediasite/Play/84faef3b32fa493ba208eff05c12eb401d

Chairwoman Shapira moved THAT THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS APPROVE THE STANDING COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS AS SHOWN IN THE STANDING COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS DOCUMENT DISTRIBUTED AT THE QUARTERLY BOARD MEETING, EFFECTIVE JANUARY 16, 2019. (Attachment #1)

The motion passed unanimously. Voice Vote

### CHAIRWOMAN SHAPIRA'S COMMENTS INCLUDED THE FOLLOWING:

- Welcomed new Board member, Brad Roae
- Dr. Syed R. Ali-Zaidi
- Millersville Commencement December 2018
- Dr. William Behre's Inauguration
- Campus visits
- Chancellor's Greenstein's Inaugural Address
- System Review

Chairwoman Shapira noted that the Board met in Executive Session on Wednesday, January 16, 2019, from 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. to discuss a variety of personnel and legal matters. No action was taken.

Chairwoman Shapira turned the meeting over to Chancellor Greenstein for his remarks.

### CHANCELLOR GREENSTEIN'S COMMENTS INCLUDED THE FOLLOWING:

- The chancellor welcomed new OOC staff members
- The chancellor welcomed new Board member Brad Roae
- System Redesign
  - Recommendations from Phase 2 Task Groups
    - Systemness
    - Student Success
    - University Success
      - Breakout Sessions
        - Each Group gave a report

Chancellor Greenstein turned the meeting over to Chairwoman Shapira.

Chairwoman Shapira moved THAT THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS ADOPTS THE FRAMEWORK FOR SYSTEM REDESIGN AS DISCUSSED AND ENDORSES THE SCOPE OF MEASURES FOR STUDENT AND UNIVERSITY SUCCESS; THE BOARD AFFIRMS THE CHANCELLOR'S NEXT STEPS AS OUTLINED AND CHARGES HIM TO REPORT ON PROGRESS AT THE APRIL MEETING.

The motion passed unanimously. Voice Vote.

At 4:39 p.m., the Chairwoman recessed the meeting until Thursday, January 17, at 9:00 a.m.

ATTEST: \_

Randy Goin Jr. Deputy Chancellor

### The webcast link for the January 16, 2019 Board meeting

http://ducmediasite.passhe.edu/Mediasite/Play/84faef3b32fa493ba208eff05c12eb401d

PENNSYLVANIA'S STATE SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION

# Board of Governors Standing Committee Assignments

#### Student Success

CHAIR – David M. Maser VICE CHAIR – Marian D. Moskowitz Senator Ryan P. Aument Audrey F. Bronson Joar F. Dahn Secretary of Education Pedro A. Rivera Cynthia D. Shapira (ex officio) President Laurie A. Carter (nonvoting president liaison)

#### Audit and Compliance

CHAIR – Samuel H. Smith Senator Judith L. Schwank Cynthia D. Shapira (ex officio) President Christopher M. Fiorentino (nonvoting president liaison)

#### University Success

CHAIR – Thomas S. Muller VICE CHAIR – Neil R. Weaver Representative Brad Roae Barbara McIlvaine Smith Secretary Meg C. Snead Brian H. Swatt Janet L. Yeomans Cynthia D. Shapira (ex officio) President Marcia G. Welsh (nonvoting president liaison)

#### Governance and Leadership

#### CHAIR - Donald E. Houser, Jr.

VICE CHAIR – TBD Rodney Kaplan, Jr. Samuel H. Smith Senator Judith L. Schwank David M. Maser Cynthia D. Shapira (ex officio) President Bashar W. Hanna (nonvoting president liaison)

Executive - Defined by the Board's bylaws as the officers and chairs of each standing committee

Cynthia D. Shapira – Board Chair David M. Maser – Board Vice Chair; Chair of the Student Success Committee Samuel H. Smith – Board Vice Chair; Chair of the Audit and Compliance Committee Thomas S. Muller – Chair of the University Success Committee Donald E. Houser, Jr. – Chair of the Governance and Leadership Committee

Updated: January 16, 2019